Pocket Runway vs. Ritual Runway

    Published by Pocket Runway. We make one of the two products compared here. Everything stated below about Ritual Runway was read from its own public website, and we have flagged anything we could not verify rather than filling the gap with a guess. The two products are unaffiliated.

    Last reviewed: August 20, 2026.

    Both apps start from the same premise: a calendar month is the wrong container for money, and the useful question is what is safe to spend between one paycheck and the next. If you have found both, you have probably already decided that paycheck-first budgeting is what you want. The remaining question is which one suits how you actually manage money.

    The short version: Pocket Runway is narrower and cheaper, with a smaller feature surface and one $4/month plan. Ritual Runway is a broader single-tier product with envelopes, a debt-payoff planner, and shared expense splitting included. Neither of those is a criticism of the other.


    The concept they share

    Both apps ask you to work per deposit rather than per month. You record the paycheck, assign the bills and savings that come out of it, and get back a spending number for the days until the next one. Both are built for people whose income does not line up with the 1st of the month — hourly work, freelance and contract income, variable pay.

    Both also work without connecting to your bank. That is an unusual thing for two products to have in common, and it means neither is going to break because an aggregator connection expired.

    Because the underlying idea is the same, most of the difference is in scope, pricing structure, and which extras are included.

    Plans and pricing

    Plans and pricing, as published on each product's own site on the review date.
    FeaturePocket RunwayRitual Runway
    Permanent free planNoNo
    Free trialNone45 days
    After signing upPocket Runway is paid from the first day; Ritual Runway after its trialSubscription requiredSubscription required
    Monthly price$4$10
    Annual option≈ $6.67/mo billed annuallyPlanned$80/yr
    Higher paid tierPocket Runway is one plan with everything in itNoneNone listed

    The structural difference is how each one is sold. Pocket Runway is a single $4/month plan with everything in it and no free tier: there is nothing to compare between tiers, and no trial period to run down. Ritual Runway is a single paid product with a 45-day trial in front of it; after the trial, continued use requires a subscription.

    Neither trial requires a card, which is worth noting because plenty of software makes you enter one to look around.

    On price, the comparison is not quite like for like. Pocket Runway's $4/month buys a set of features that is smaller than what Ritual Runway's $10/month includes, so the right way to read it is cost per feature set you will actually use rather than the headline number.

    Ritual Runway offers annual billing at a discount. Pocket Runway is monthly-only today; annual billing is planned and not yet available.

    Features, side by side

    Features, as published on each product's own site on the review date. “Not stated” means their site did not say.
    FeaturePocket RunwayRitual Runway
    Daily safe-to-spend numberYesYes
    Bills assigned per paycheckYesYes
    Variable-income supportYesYes
    Manual transaction entryYesYes
    CSV importYesYes
    Data exportYesYes
    Automatic bank connectionsNeither app connects to your bankNoNo
    Web appYesYes
    Android appYesNot stated
    iOS appNot yetNot stated
    Forecasting / what-ifYesYes
    Savings goalsYesYes
    Sinking fundsEnvelopes on Ritual RunwayYesYes
    Category envelopes / limitsNoYes
    Debt payoff plannerAvalanche / snowball on Ritual RunwayNoYes
    Self-employed tax reserveYesYes
    Net worth trackingYesYes
    Investment trackingPlannedYes
    Household / expense splittingPlannedYes
    AI featuresInsight cardsNot stated

    A few rows are worth expanding, because a one-word cell flattens some real differences.

    Where Ritual Runway covers more ground

    Envelopes and spending limits. Ritual Runway includes category envelopes. Pocket Runway deliberately does not — its model reduces to one number instead of many category balances, which is a design choice rather than a gap, and it is the wrong choice for anyone who wants per-category control.

    A debt-payoff planner. Ritual Runway lists avalanche and snowball payoff schedules. Pocket Runway tracks debts as part of net worth and lets you plan payments as ordinary obligations, but does not generate a payoff schedule or compare strategies.

    Shared expense splitting. Ritual Runway lists splitting expenses with a partner or roommate and assigning bills per person. Pocket Runway has no household or multi-user support today; it is planned, and planned is not shipped.

    Investment tracking. Available in Ritual Runway. In Pocket Runway it exists only as a planned tier that is not purchasable, so treat it as unavailable.

    If any of those four matter to you, that is a straightforward reason to choose Ritual Runway, and we would rather say so than pretend the columns are even.

    Where Pocket Runway differs

    A lower monthly price. If the paycheck-first method is what you want and you do not need envelopes, debt payoff or expense splitting, Pocket Runway is the cheaper way to get it.

    Lower paid price. $4/month against $10/month, for a smaller feature set.

    An Android app. Pocket Runway is on Google Play in addition to the web app. Ritual Runway's site does not state its platform availability, so we cannot say whether it offers native apps — check their site if that matters to you. Neither product has an iOS app that we can confirm; Pocket Runway's is not shipped.

    AI-written insight cards. Pocket Runway generates short written observations about your current cycle. Ritual Runway's site does not mention AI features, which means we do not know either way rather than that it lacks them.

    A payday closeout step. Pocket Runway's Runway Reset is a structured decision at the end of each cycle about where leftover money goes — savings, a goal, debt, or forward into the next period. Ritual Runway describes a guided payday flow at the start of a cycle; whether the two overlap in practice is not something we can determine from a website, so we are not claiming they do or do not.

    Choose Pocket Runway if…

    • You want to try paycheck budgeting without paying, and keep using it without paying.
    • You want the lowest ongoing cost and do not need envelopes, a payoff planner, or expense splitting.
    • One number matters more to you than category-level control.
    • You want an Android app rather than only a browser.
    • Your main need is knowing what is safe to spend today and whether the next cycle is tight.

    Choose Ritual Runway if…

    • You want category envelopes alongside a daily spending number.
    • You want a structured debt-payoff plan with avalanche and snowball options built in.
    • You split bills with a partner or a roommate and want that handled in the app.
    • You want investment tracking in the same place as your budget.
    • You would rather pay annually at a discount than monthly.
    • You want the widest feature set of the two and the price difference is not decisive for you.

    How to actually decide

    Both offer a trial without a card, which makes this easier than usual. A method that works:

    1. Set up your real pay schedule in both. Not a simplified version — the actual dates, including any irregularity.
    2. Enter the same bills in both, with real due dates.
    3. Run one full pay period. A payday, the bills that follow it, and the stretch to the next check. A weekend of setup tells you about the interface; a full cycle tells you about the fit.
    4. Notice which one you opened without being reminded. That is the one you will still be using in six months, and it outranks any feature list.

    Methodology and caveats

    Every Ritual Runway detail here was taken from pages on ritualrunway.com — its homepage, features, how-it-works, and pricing information — as read on the review date above. We did not use their marketing copy, screenshots, or logo, and we did not sign up for an account to test the product, so nothing here is a claim about how well any feature works. Rows marked "not stated" mean their public site did not say, not that the answer is no.

    Pocket Runway details describe what is live in our product on the same date. Where something is planned rather than shipped, the table says planned.

    Software changes. Prices change, features ship, and a comparison table is accurate only on the day it was written. Before deciding, check both products' current websites — and if you find something here that has gone stale or is wrong, we would rather hear about it at support@pocketrunway.com than leave it up.

    We have deliberately not compared anything we cannot verify from public sources: reliability, security posture, support quality, roadmaps, or how either company is doing. Those would be assertions, not comparisons.


    General educational information about budgeting software, not financial advice, and not an endorsement of either product for your circumstances. Pricing and features described for Ritual Runway are as published on their website on the review date and may have changed since.

    Curious how ours reads? Get started with Pocket Runway → $4/month, billed monthly, cancel from the billing page whenever you want.


    Other comparisons: Pocket Runway vs. YNAB, Pocket Runway vs. spreadsheet budgeting, or the wider best budgeting app for biweekly pay guide. Everything else is in the guide library.